Electrical Help Needed!

These are discussions that contain lots of good info, so did not want to eliminate it. It has closed so we can take advantage of making the forum easier to find what you are looking for.

Electrical Help Needed!

Postby Future Fulltimers » Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:43 pm

Ok, I need some electrical help. Out of the clear blue sky the 120v receptacle on the road side along with the 2 lights. Then the receptacles in the kitchen and the frig all went dead. Doing some testing I have found that by putting a volt meter on the hot and the ground (not the common) I get 120v. I looked at the wiring diagrams posted on this site and it refers to a junction box that is attached to the frame. Can someone give me a clue where? I am trying not to remove all the pans. :x
Wayne & Peggy Williamson
Rocky
GoodSam Lifetime Members
2006 30TS
2007 Silverado 3500 Classic 6.6L D'Max
AirSafe 25k hitch
User avatar
Future Fulltimers
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Tennessee Eastern (Deceased)

Postby rosey » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:19 pm

Wayne ........need more information.....were/are you hooked up to shore power or generator when you lost power??..........did I read correctly that this was a progressive loss of power to these recepticals and frig.??
Gayle & Mike Rosenblatt "Rosey"
Our Furry Camping Kids; "Ting-Tang,Saylor,& Kai"
07 Cardinal 34QS;4 Slides;Optional Paint;Bigfoot
07 Chevy Silverado LT3 3500 Duramax Dually Longbed CC;Allison;Titan 62 Gal(Super Ser.)fuel tank
User avatar
rosey
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:02 pm
Location: Virginia Appomattox / Rockville, Maryland

Postby campswithcritters » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:29 pm

Is it possible to use a 30 amp reducer and try power from a different source? I had this happen in Oklahoma once and it was the parks 50 amp problem. Maybe a different site if no 30 in the same box.
Bruce & Sharon Full-time since Nov 06
Boogie, & Jack ("the critters")
User avatar
campswithcritters
exempt member
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Texas New Caney

Postby Future Fulltimers » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:34 pm

We're hooked up to shore power. Really didn't notice a progressive loss just not there. The receptacles in the front half of the trailer work fine. I replaced the GFI outlet and the breaker. No change. Pulled ALL the receptacles, they look fine. Disconnected them no change. Disconnected the frig- no change. Disconnected the light fixtures- No change. The only plugs that do work in the rear half are the two on the back wall. All others read that they have a faulty common.
Wayne & Peggy Williamson
Rocky
GoodSam Lifetime Members
2006 30TS
2007 Silverado 3500 Classic 6.6L D'Max
AirSafe 25k hitch
User avatar
Future Fulltimers
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Tennessee Eastern (Deceased)

Postby Future Fulltimers » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:36 pm

campswithcritters wrote:Is it possible to use a 30 amp reducer and try power from a different source? I had this happen in Oklahoma once and it was the parks 50 amp problem. Maybe a different site if no 30 in the same box.

I'll try that tomorrow. But the A/C is working and the surge protector hasn't indicated anything wrong.
Wayne & Peggy Williamson
Rocky
GoodSam Lifetime Members
2006 30TS
2007 Silverado 3500 Classic 6.6L D'Max
AirSafe 25k hitch
User avatar
Future Fulltimers
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Tennessee Eastern (Deceased)

Postby campswithcritters » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:38 pm

Just guessing at location of the junction box, seems they would put it near either the shore power inlet or the breaker box/converter area. Kinda of a dice game. Sorry can't think of anything else.
Bruce & Sharon Full-time since Nov 06
Boogie, & Jack ("the critters")
User avatar
campswithcritters
exempt member
 
Posts: 3432
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 2:19 am
Location: Texas New Caney

Postby Future Fulltimers » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:41 pm

campswithcritters wrote:Just guessing at location of the junction box, seems they would put it near either the shore power inlet or the breaker box/converter area. Kinda of a dice game. Sorry can't think of anything else.

Hey thanks for trying. I was thinking the same thing but I was hoping someone knew for sure. When I find it I'll post my findings. Maybe save someone some :evil:
Wayne & Peggy Williamson
Rocky
GoodSam Lifetime Members
2006 30TS
2007 Silverado 3500 Classic 6.6L D'Max
AirSafe 25k hitch
User avatar
Future Fulltimers
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Tennessee Eastern (Deceased)

Postby rosey » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:52 pm

Although I'm by no means an electrician it does sound like a loose wire at a junction box........let us know what you found....good luck...........what a pain...especially in a new 5er!!
Gayle & Mike Rosenblatt "Rosey"
Our Furry Camping Kids; "Ting-Tang,Saylor,& Kai"
07 Cardinal 34QS;4 Slides;Optional Paint;Bigfoot
07 Chevy Silverado LT3 3500 Duramax Dually Longbed CC;Allison;Titan 62 Gal(Super Ser.)fuel tank
User avatar
rosey
 
Posts: 374
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:02 pm
Location: Virginia Appomattox / Rockville, Maryland

Postby Rob & Cathy » Tue Aug 07, 2007 5:53 pm

Does the microwave work? If you have two air conditioners are they both working?

Rob
Rob & Cathy
 

Postby Rob & Cathy » Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:01 pm

Have you tried cycling the 50a mains?

Rob
Rob & Cathy
 

Postby jennyt » Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:42 am

We had a problem a couple of months ago - a/c and micro would work, but not fridge or receptacles. Turned out it was the 50 amp at the park - 30 amp worked just fine. Fingers crossed that is the case for you. :?
jennyt
 

Postby Olbird » Wed Aug 08, 2007 7:44 am

Hello Wayne,

I have found in my unit that the juction boxes are located above the floor and not under in the frame area.

Look behind cabinet walls for a false wall or in a corner.

You said you have 120 volts between ground and hot, without getting too deep here ground (bare copper)and common ( white) are the same. However they are two different wires running to each of your outlets, if you do not have 110 volts at the outlets between the hot and common that means that the common line (white) wire came loose. Most likely it came loose inside the outlets because of the way wires connect to the outlets. I have a picture posted on the site of the inside of a outlet, the wires push onto clips inside the outlet box. From the 110 volt breaker panel power goes to a outlet and the connection is push onto the outlet lugs and then goes to the next outlet, they put many outlets on the same breaker. Many times they splice and use the outlet boxes as a juction box and push two wires onto the outlet lugs, this may be the spot the common wire came loose going to the next outlet. So start checking at each outlet and try to find a outlet working on the same breaker this may be the point of a bad connection to the next outlet box.

George:
George & Julie
2014 3850 RL Full Paint w/ TrailAir Spring Ride System, Kodiak Disc Brakes, TrailAir Tri-Glide Pin Box, Over 130 Mods

GMC 3500 Denali DRW
User avatar
Olbird
Council, Asst. Admin
 
Posts: 3996
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Washington, LaCenter

Postby snuffy » Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:16 am

I had basically the same problem once. Like George said, the receptacles are all daisy-chained. All of them in the chain will have two blacks and two whites except the last one in the chain. Probably one pair has slipped out the receptacle. I'd start at the receptacle closest to the converter.
snuffy
 

Postby yogi154 » Wed Aug 08, 2007 4:19 pm

Just mt 2 Cents
re set all breahers start checking at the outlets that work . Every circuit should have a seperate neutral (white wire) you might check with one circuit on at a time .The frig is a seperate circuit and the water heater.
I would plug the trailer into a GFCI cord to do your testing it could save your Life. I've been hit by a lot of neutrals. Check the white wires at the panel may be loose
Good luck Wayne
yogi154
 

Postby Future Fulltimers » Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:00 pm

Rob & Cathy wrote:Does the microwave work? If you have two air conditioners are they both working?

Rob

Yes
Rob & Cathy wrote:Have you tried cycling the 50a mains?

Rob

Yes
I have pulled all of the outlets, disconnected them and found the same thing (open common). The only plugs that work in the rear half is the two at the very rear. I have pulled most of the pans under the trailer. So far nothing. I am almost to the rear of the trailer. I'll keep you posted.
Wayne & Peggy Williamson
Rocky
GoodSam Lifetime Members
2006 30TS
2007 Silverado 3500 Classic 6.6L D'Max
AirSafe 25k hitch
User avatar
Future Fulltimers
 
Posts: 848
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Tennessee Eastern (Deceased)

Next

Return to Closed Miscellaneous Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest